Oktober-ween?

I kind of forget to do my Oktoberfest post and here it is Halloween already. Could time please just slow-the-heck down for a minute?

Well, this year some of us went to the first annual Oktoberfest at some friends of ours from church. The two older brothers graciously opened their apartment up for the party, which is the back half of the family home. That’s where the party was held and it is a magical place. It seems this family of homeschoolers has more talent in their pinky fingers than most of us in our entire bodies. The two older young men are both surfers musicians and artists. (Click here for their website where you can watch Joe, the oldest and champion surfer, show some of his moves, top hat and all. Younger ladies, you won’t want to miss this one.) You will see their art pictures, some of them, below. Seems they have turned their apt into an art studio and have quite a clientele that purchase their art. Did I mention they paint surf boards too?

Okay, there was log sawing and stein holding, darts and ping-pong. I got  a round of ping-pong in with my friend Linda. I also did the girly version of stein holding, without the stein’s being full of water. I lost. Linda won. But her daughter gave her a run for her money. We had a great time.

Sorry its so blurry, I musta been laughing.
Sorry its so blurry, I musta been laughing. Celina is trying to hang in there but is not match for mama.

IMG_2791 (1024x765)

the women didn't just hold the log down...
the women didn’t just hold the log down…
IMG_2808 (1024x765)
steady…steady…
They are for sale I do believe, if you want them for your walls.
They are for sale I do believe, if you want them for your walls.
My brat buns actually didn't come out too lumpy!
My brat buns actually didn’t come out too lumpy!
They had a fire pit out by the tiki hut, an actual hut they built out of old pilings and lumber, with a cot inside for guests or as a playroom for the youngsters.
They had a fire pit out by the tiki hut, an actual hut they built out of old pilings and lumber, with a cot inside for guests or as a playroom for the youngsters.

So if you click here you should be able to see a log sawing contest live. Although Phil redid his later that evening and beat his time by quite a bit. I think he ended at  13 seconds! The top winner was under 10 seconds! Amazing.

Mr.Snarky says have a happy Halloween and Happy All Saints Day tomorrow.
Mr.Snarky says have a happy Halloween and Happy All Saints Day tomorrow.
I'd like to hear from you!

