Chicken Brocolli Ring, an old favorite revived

Now that I am a Pampered Chef consultant, I am looking up old favorite recipes to try. I have yet to try one I did not like and they are almost always time thrifty as well as cost thrifty. They remind me of ‘Semi-Homemade’ recipes from Sandra Lee.

Well, I went to a team meeting last week and the hostess had made a taco ring, rings being a favorite Pampered thing. Apparently this has been around for a long time, but I had somehow missed it and boy, what I missed! I loved that stuff and kept eyeballing the other ladies to see who would be the first to dig in for seconds. Or thirds…

To my utter disappointment, no one did. But after the meeting I noticed that several women had  quietly disappeared and it wasn’t out the front door that I was sitting near. They had slipped unnoticed into the kitchen to help ‘clean up’ the leftovers. So I, of course, never a shirker, helped them.

Well, hubby had brought home a Costco chicken, all roasted up so I figured this was my chance to try a ‘ring’.  So I will share it with you now, so you can reminisce about your rings of old.

One thing I would have done differently. I do not  like bell peppers. Hubby does, so I kept them in thinking I could pick them out. But I kept missing them…eww. I would leave them out next time.

I modified the original recipe a bit, no big surprise there, but it is basically the same. It is a good way to get broccoli into my diet, since that is another vegetable I don’t really like, at least cooked. But I chopped it up good in my manual food processor. Ooh, now I can add links to the items I use to take you to the Pampered Chef website so you can see those things. Ah-ha!

As for seasoning, the recipe calls for All Purpose Dill Mix. which I do not have. But I used dill and some other seasonings that I had ordered for my kit. Like the Bell Pepper Herb rub, and the Greek Rub. Then I just added some dill I had in my cupboard. They worked fab!

Broccoli cheese ring
Broccoli cheese ring on my old pizza stone (“the worse it looks the better it cooks”)

So here is the recipe with my variations. I strongly suggest baking it on a Stoneware baking stone of one kind or another, either a bar pan or pizza pan or a stone pie pan. I made a half recipe, saving the rest of the chicken mixture for another day.

Chicken and Broccoli Ring

1 cup of broccoli florets, chopped

2 cups of chopped cooked chicken breasts (canned or roasted)

½ cup diced bell pepper (I used way less and was still sorry, but if you like it….)

1 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese (I used a mix of cheddar and mozzarella)

½ cup mayonnaise

1 garlic clove, pressed in garlic press

1 green onion, diced

2 teaspoons All-Purpose Dill Mix (or dill and other seasonings of choice)

¼ teaspoon salt

2 tubes of refrigerated crescent roll dough

1 egg, lightly beaten

2 Tbsp slivered or sliced almonds (optional)

Sesame seeds (Optional)

 

Preheat oven to 375. Combine broccoli, chicken, bell pepper, cheese, mayo, dill and other seasonings, garlic and salt in Classic Batter Bowl. Mix well.

IMG_2836 (1024x765)

Unroll one package of crescent dough and separate triangles. Lay them in a circle, with the big end overlapping each other in the inner part of the ring, while the points all point out like starfish arms. Press lightly together to help seal.

Looks like a starfish to me.
Looks like a starfish to me. Look how dark chocolate the baking stone is after all these years!

Using  a large scoop,  scoop balls of chicken mixture around the ring, towards the inside. (see picture). Bring points up and over, tucking in under the inner part of ring.

IMG_2834 (1024x765)IMG_2835 (1024x765)

Brush egg wash over all and sprinkle with almonds and/or sesame seeds.

Put in oven for about 20-25 minutes or until golden brown. I wish I had kept it in a few more minutes. Stoneware pans do not burn on the bottom like metal pans, so you can safely bake until done without fear of cheese burning to the bottom of the pan, but I had forgotten that. A bigger ring would probably take a few minutes longer to bake.

IMG_2839 (1024x1009)Okay, not perfect looking, but not too bad for first chicken ring. Will definitely be doing more of this kind of thing! This with a side salad was perfect. Oh, and I sautéed some corn in butter too. I had a few ears getting older by the moment and using my kernel cutter, stripped the cobs (for chicken snacks the next day) and just put the corn in a skillet with a little butter to slowly cook while I made the salad. The round stone kept the chicken ring nice and warm in the meantime.

Can you tell I love these stones? I have several and they have all seen good use. Biscuits, cakes, brownies, Irish soda bread, Turkish bread, Italian cheese swirl, ribs, chicken, roasted veggies, potatoes, the list goes on and on. Love them!

(By the way, if you have Pampered Chef stoneware pans sitting around in your cupboards and you are thinking “Linda, I just don’t use them” let me know and I will email you recipes to rekindle your love for these great pans!)

As a side note, I wanted to share the story of my son’s birthday gift to me.This is my 16-year-old. As I got up this morning he jumped out from behind a corner and covered my eyes, no easy task with someone who wears glasses, let me tell you. As he guided me to the kitchen, he told me his story.

“I woke up at 2 in the morning and realized I did not get you a birthday present. So as I was thinking about this, I heard voices outside. I went out and there was a fairy sitting on the chicken fence talking to the chickens. But they were all sleeping and not listening. I listened and the fairy granted me one wish. I said I wanted him (guess it was a guy fairy?)  to clean the kitchen for my mom every day for a week. And when I got up this morning, it was all clean!” And at this point he uncovered my eyes.

IMG_2840 (1024x765)Dishes, pans all washed, dried and put away, the trash taken out the counters wiped. Wow! I told him this gift was worth more than gold. I might just get used to this…Love you Paul!

2 thoughts on “Chicken Brocolli Ring, an old favorite revived

  1. The broccoli cheddar ring looks delicious and easy!
    “One ring to rule them all…” And Happy Birthday, Farmgirl Sister! Maybe Paul can tell my boys what I’d like for my birthday this year!! 😉

  2. Your recipe is wonderful and I will start experimenting with cream cheese and fruit to make breakfast bread. PAUL IS AN AWESOME SON!!!!!!!

I'd like to hear from you!

