Milk Dumpling Soup

This is a reprisal of an old favorite. I treated myself to this soup for breakfast, if you can believe it! I am celebrating the beginning of Christmas break for my kid and hence, me. That means I can spend the whole darn day in front of this computer, blogging…after I make breakfast for hubby who is heading out of town, move the car whose battery is dying, bring in the Christmas tree before it rains (we just bought it and it is outside soaking up water), and taking the kid Christmas shopping and going to a Pampered Chef meeting tonight. Other than that, I’m free as a bird!

Who says soup can’t be for breakfast? Who says you must have something sweet like cereal or pancakes, or eggs and bacon? Milk dumpling soup is good morning noon and night. I texted my sis that I was making this for breakfast and she says she is hopping a jet. Enjoy!

Here is a soup you are not going to find every day.

In fact, this may be the only place on the entire internet or in any cookbook, or on the planet where you will see this recipe. Its one-of-a-kind.

It has been handed down, I think from my grandmothers mother-in-law? To her daughter-in-law, then to my mom and to me. It is much in demand when I visit family as most of them do not bother making it for themselves. It tends to be a love/hate thing. My dad wouldn’t touch it, but my mom loved it. My sister and I loved it, my brother did not. My husband doesn’t even try it, my kids love it. I think its something you just have to grow up with it. Except my brother, I don’t know whats up with that.

Major comfort food

Since I have never written it down before, this may be the first time this is published anywhere. So, sound the trumpets! Bang the drums! Toot the harmonica! Here you go, for the love of family, the recipe for milk dumpling soup, original, as taught to yours truly, no alterations: This recipe will feed 2-3 people

  • Milk, lots of it.Okay, about 3 1/2 cups (4 was too much, 3 too little)
  • 3 large eggs (mine are smaller, so I used 4)
  • 4 Tbsp butter (that’s half a cube, right?)
  • 1 1/2-1 3/4 cup of all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp salt

First, in your soup pot, heat the milk on low heat, with half the butter in it. While that heats, in a mixing bowl, put 1 1/2 cups flour. Add the salt in with a fork or whisk. Make a well in the middle and into this crack the eggs.

On your marks, get set…

Mix the eggs in, starting in the middle and gradually incorporating in the flour from around the sides. You want the dough to be pretty wet. But you can add up to 1/4 cup more flour if you fell you must. Don’t get carried away, just mix until done. Too much mixing makes tough dough.**

As the milk comes to a  simmer, add spoonsful of the dumpling dough.

spoon or fork fulls of dough dropped into simmering milk

Try to drop them in their own little spots as opposed to on top of each other. Then let them just simmer. For about 10 minutes they simmer, with you hovering nearby, turning the heat down if it bubbles up too high. You will be amazed at the transformation! Like magic they went from pebbles of dough to puffy boulders of dumplings. Now gently lift each dumpling up with a large spoon and flip it over. They will stick to the bottom of the pan a little, but not much. (Especially if you spray with non-stick stuff first, but I usually don’t remember that until  its time to clean the pot).

Starting to puff up

Now here is a difference of opinion. I remember always putting a lid on them after 10 minutes, slightly cracked to one side for steam and letting them continue cooking for another 10 minutes. But my mother says she never remembers putting a lid on them. She just cooked them the whole time with no lid. Of course, when was the last time you made them mom? I’m sticking with my ‘lid on’ version.  Of course, this way the milk bubbles up and spills over making a terrible mess on the stove. But it does clean up…eventually.

The point is, it needs to cook about 20 minutes.

Now that its puffed from pebbles to boulders, add in the rest of the butter, some salt and pepper. Spoon it into bowl and let cool a minute or two. You can add a little more milk to rush the cooling process if you want.

Remember, Aunt Jo Ann, when I was visiting you at ‘the Bough’ and made some of this soup at your request? Just as we were finishing slurping it up, you had to go take care of some business. I thought I would be helpful and clean up, since you only had a couple spoonsful of milk broth left in the bottom of your bowl and I was done. You came back and I thought you were going to cry. “I was saving that! Its my favorite part! I was  looking forward to those last sips! I haven’t had it in years…” Oops. Of course, you always have had a theatrical side. But it worked. I feel guilty to this day and am scarred for life.

Now, other dumpling recipes add baking powder to their batter for say, chicken and dumpings. But in this recipe, as it was handed to me, it was just the eggs that gave the dumplings the lift. So, if you make this, let me know how it came out for you and if it brought back memories.

Love ya, Linda

If your pot looks like this, smile, you did it right!

** How is it the words ‘tough’ and ‘dough’ are spelled the same except for the first letter but do not sound the same at all? Shouldn’t it be ‘tuff’ and ‘doe’?

8 thoughts on “Milk Dumpling Soup

  1. Duchess and I are enjoying your web. Keep letting me know where to look for the new stuff. I am not a computer whiz, not even a little tiny squeek like my kids all are.

  2. I have been looking for this recipe for years. My Grandmother used to make it for us when we were small children – ?? 50 + years ago!

  3. I only googled this because I wanted to know if it was an actual recipe!! I have been eating it for almost 50 years & still love it!

  4. My mom made this and she has been gone for 25 years, may she rest in peace…so glad you posted the measurements…headed to town for some fresh milk…need some comfort today…and this fills the bill. THANKS

I'd like to hear from you!

