Main Street Cinnamon Rolls from The Magic Kingdom

Hello there and happy New Years!

I hope this coming year finds you all even better than you are now. I am sure these cinnamon rolls will help you get there. (ahem).

My favorite way to celebrate New Years is to fall asleep in front of a good movie. Then I am refreshed and ready to go early in the morning to watch the rose parade.(and go to church). How about you?

We usually go out and bang pots and pans with wooden spoons at midnight and other neighbor come out too, to watch fireworks or laugh at us, I’m not sure which. I think someone here will still take Marabelle out and shoot her into the air. (Don’t worry, Marabelle is an old civil war reenactment rifle, not one of the chickens.)

By the way…halleluiah! Tiffany Bubbles is still alive! I was worried there for a bit. (Who you might be asking?)

I haven’t made sourdough bread in a long time. It suddenly dawned on my, at 3 in the morning of course, when most good ideas come to me, just when I can’t do anything about them, that I have not fed her (my sourdough starter) in a long, long time. Even dormant, sourdough starter needs some attention once in a while. So I got her out at a decent hour in the morning and she looked pretty slimy. Kind of grey and watery. I could almost hear the death knell.

But I had faith. I talked to her, fed her 1/4 cup of water and enough bread flour to make a pliable dough like silly putty. Then I covered her for the day (tucked her in). That night I fed her again, tossing out half the dough and adding water and flour. Then next morning, the bowl was full of bubbly dough! Whew! Close call. I fed her again and again and she is up to her perky self now. I am making some sourdough bread for dinner, maybe, if I can pull myself away from the computer. It might be for tomorrow at this rate though. After putting all the sourdough, about 1 1/2 cups I guess, eyeballing it, into the mixer I added a little water, some whole wheat flour, a measure of salt in the palm of my hand. I am really a fly-by-the-seat-of-her-pants kind of sourdough baker. It’s mostly by feel. It usually works for me in the bread department. Not so much the food department. But I already put some of the starter back in the now clean canning jar and put her in the fridge, so all is good. I tell you, there is nothing stickier than sourdough starter. It took soaking and scrubbing for a good 24 hours to get the jar clean. If you ever need to cement anything together, I’m just saying…

Anyway, now that I have been rambling, I have also been reviewing my posts and realized that while I have made several posts about sweet dough, from which you can make cinnamon rolls, I have never just had a post on making cinnamon rolls!

Or am I missing something?

So now I am going to munch on a healthy apple while writing about a special recipe for extra special cinnamon rolls which your family will  not be able to resist.

I found this recipe quite by accident some time back. It is not my usual go to for cinnamon rolls, but it is fabulous for that special occasion. (And aren’t homemade cinnamon rolls always a special occasion?)

This recipe actually has vanilla pudding in the dough! Which is why my cupboard is stocked chock full of vanilla pudding mix.

This comes from Lisa in Texas who writes the blog “the Disney Diner” and loves everything Disney. She has the happiest hobby on earth! I will share a link at the bottom if you want to watch Lisa make the rolls herself.

I use a little less butter than she does and will give you my variations. (My pictures are very lame and I will have to make these soon to put a new photo in it. Or see her website for yummy pics of hers.)

I made this batch smaller than hers. But this is the gist of it.Leave room for expansion.
I made this batch smaller than hers. But this is the gist of it. These have not risen yet. Leave room for expansion.

Main Street Cinnamon rolls

(This makes a lot! She recommends cutting them 2″ thick.I would suggest using 2 9×13 pans or just have several odd size pans on the ready. Or make them smaller, like 1 1/2″ and maybe freeze a pan full after cutting them and putting in the pan. Be sure to wrap double in plastic and when ready to bake, thaw and let rise, which will take several hours. If cut 1″ you could bake them in individual muffin cups.)

Ingredients:
1/2 cup warm water
2 packets active dry yeast
2 tablespoons sugar
1 (3.5 ounce) package instant vanilla pudding
2 cups milk
1 stick unsalted butter, melted
2 large eggs, beaten
1 teaspoon salt
8 cups all-purpose flour

Filling:
1 stick unsalted butter, melted
2 cups brown sugar
2 tablespoons cinnamon

In a small bowl, combine water, yeast and sugar. Stir well until dissolved. Set aside.

   In a separate large bowl, mix pudding and milk with a wire whisk. Add in 1 stick of melted butter, eggs and salt. Mix well then add in the yeast mixture. Gradually add in the flour, 1 cup at a time, and knead until smooth either by hand or with a standing mixer.

   Place the dough in another large bowl that has been well-greased. Cover bowl with plastic wrap or clean, damp towel and let rise in a warm place until double in size, about 45 minutes. This has a lot of yeast and will work pretty fast.  Punch down and let rise again. This double rising is unusual and not necessary, but she is trying to keep to the original Disney recipe. I imagine it will help the dough develop flavor and give it a finer texture.

   Roll dough out on a very large floured surface. Give yourself plenty of space. Dough should roll out to a long rectangle, about 34 x 21 inches in size. Take the 1 stick of melted butter and spread over entire surface, using a pastry brush. (She recommends 2 sticks of butter in the filling. I am all for butter, but this is too much in my opinion and just leaks out anyway making a syrupy mess. I just used the one stick).

   In a small bowl, mix brown sugar and cinnamon. Sprinkle over top of the buttered dough. Starting on the long end, roll up like a jelly roll. While you could use white sugar if you want, the brown gives it a little something special. Also, in place of plain cinnamon you could use Cinnamon Plus, which has nutmeg, zest and more. As you roll it up, make sure it is staying tight. A loose cinnamon roll will flop open and filling will spill out. Pull back on the roll of dough as you roll it, if you know what I mean. When done, roll it back and forth a couple of times to make it secure.

   Using a serrated knife, measure dough every 2 inches and slice. Take each roll into the palm of your hand and gently pack the roll to keep it from coming apart during baking.

   Place each roll into an oiled baking pan and allow to rise again in a warm place for about 20 minutes. Bake in preheated oven at 350° for 20 minutes or until golden brown. Remove from oven and frost with cream cheese frosting (recipe below) while still warm. Yum!! (I suggest letting it cool for about 15 minutes first, so the icing does not just drip off. You want it to melt in a little but not drip off completely.

 

Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe
Ingredients:

1 (8 ounce) brick of cream cheese, softened to room temperature
1 stick unsalted butter, softened to room temperature
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3 cups powdered sugar
2-4 tablespoons milk

With an electric mixer, blend cream cheese, butter and vanilla until creamy. Slowly add in powdered sugar, 1 cup at a time. Mix well. After all of the powdered sugar has been mixed in, add the milk, 1 tablespoon at a time to thin out. Blend on low until smooth. Spread on warm cinnamon rolls.

I will add more photos when I make these again. Maybe tomorrow? Or Sunday, tops.

Before frosting
Before frosting. You can see where butter and sugar have leaked out and made a syrup beneath them.

Put on your Minnie and Micky ears while you gobble these delicious things up!

To visit Lisa’s Disney Diner website and this recipe, allowing you to watch the video, go here.

I'd like to hear from you!

