In the Mood for Mexican Food!

Here I was, sorting through old photos, planning to clean some out in my getting-ready-for-new-years cleaning fest, when I see all these pictures of Mexican food. Now I am really hungry and we are supposed to have Corned Beef for dinner. Hmm. That is not very Mexican.

So, to get you in the mood for Mexican food, here are some old photos along with what they are, I think, and how they are made…

Here is a quesadilla I do believe I blogged about some time ago. Its just like a mexican grilled cheese sandwich, with flour tortillas and stuffed with meat black beans and cheese.
Here is a quesadilla I do believe I blogged about some time ago. It’s just like a Mexican grilled cheese sandwich, with flour tortillas stuffed with meat, black beans and cheese.Topped with more cheese, guacamole, sour cream and salsa.
Here are my kind of nachos: shredded meat and cheese warmed up in the oven on tortilla chips. Then when they come out, top with more cheese, salsa, guacamole or whatever.
Here are my kind of nachos: shredded meat and cheese warmed up in the oven on tortilla chips. Then when they come out, top with more cheese, salsa, guacamole or whatever.
More along those lines.
More along those lines.
Here I am starting some guacamole. First the avocados...
Here I am starting some guacamole. First the avocados…
Add some salsa.
Add some salsa.
Add a little sour cream. If you can get it, some cilantro too and a squeeze of lime juice.
Add a little sour cream. If you can get it, some cilantro too and a squeeze of lime juice.

So lets recap guacamole:

Avocados from grandmas tree, salsa made from our own tomatoes and peppers, cilantro from the store because it keeps dying when I try to grow it, sour cream, some lime juice (didn’t grow the limes either, but some friend or other usually has a tree), salt and pepper. The salsa will add the heat, if you like it that way. Mix this all up and there you are jefe!

Or if I have a particularly wonderful salsa, I may just dice up some avocados and dump them into it. Not exactly guac, but it razzle-dazzles up the salsa.

Click here for heuvos rancheros, Linda style, one of our favorite breakfasts.

I have tried making my own refried beans many times and am almost always disappointed. Then one magic day I found a recipe wherein I made the beans in a pressure cooker and the recipe included part of a can of evaporated milk. It was fabulous! But that’s all I remember of it and now I cannot find where that recipe was. I never did copy it so it is out in the virtual void of the internet somewhere. I will try to make them again some day, I am sure. But since I am pretty much the only one in the family that really likes them, more than likely we will stick to canned for now. If you have a tried and true recipe, share the love!

Say what? What about fish tacos? Oh yes my friend, we have the feesh tacos too.

Everything you need for fish taco night.
Everything you need for fish taco night. (this picture is very very old, before kitchen upgrades. And whats up with the strawberries?

Fry up some favorite fish, then break it up with a fork. Have your salsa, guacamole, shredded cabbage or lettuce, lime and cheeses ready. I also make a cream sauce with a mix of mayo and sour cream seasoned with either taco seasoning or a mix of cumin and other flavorful seasoning. Warm the flour tortillas. On your mark, get set, go! Cream sauce-fish-guac-cabbage-lime-cheese-salsa and top with chopped cilantro. There you are carino!

So there. While I may not be eating Mexican food tonight, I at least got to talk about it with you and share pictures. By the time you read this though, I bet I will be chomping my way through some nachos and tacos. Come join me!

IMG_0988 (1024x765)
South-of-the-border-beans. See here for this recipe.

I'd like to hear from you!

