Warm kale, potato and sausage soup (Or chowder?)

What to call this? Soup? Chowder? Potato soup? Kale chowder? This could go on all night…

But now its all gone anyway. So it doesn’t matter what we call it really. Maybe we will call it ‘gone-in-a-second soup’.

??????????????????????
Not much left there. This is after I added some turmeric, just for fun. It looks a bit thicker, thickening as it sits.

It actually started with dinner at my friend Ritas house around Christmas. We went there to see the lighting of trees at the circle of Orange. She had made both a large pot of chili and a large pot of this amazing soup to eat when we all got back. She says she was trying to copy a soup she enjoyed at Olive Garden. (I know my hubby loves their soup too!)  I may not know much about their soup, but this was the best! Plus it used kale. Kale is currently very trendy. The up-and-coming brassica.

And a few weeks later I was craving it.

Since she claims she can’t come over and make us the soup here, she sent me her own recipe.

Which I then tweeked, of course.

She used Italian sausage. she had bought at Costco and it was actually ‘Spaghetti Factory Spicy Italian Sausage’. I did not have. But I did happen to have some pineapple and bacon chicken sausage by Aidells. Darned if that sausage doesn’t go with everything! (Also from Costco, imagine that.) I diced it up in eggs. Topped homemade pizza with it. Threw it in sauerkraut. Now here I was slicing it up to saute in a big soup pot. I added some onions and thinly sliced potatoes to saute. Then some garlic and thinly sliced kale, (with the thick chunks picked out.)

??????????????????????

Saute everything together, waiting in vain for kale to wilt.
Saute everything together, waiting in vain for kale to wilt.
Letting it simmer...
Letting it simmer…no wait, some of it is gone already. Okay, this is after the first wave hit.

For the broth, it is half chicken broth and half milk. (with a splash or cream I had leftover from the weekend of baking.)

Add some seasonings, some corn, because it sounded good, salt and pepper. I let it simmer until everything was tender.

I am surprised how the kale held up. It is not like spinach. (Duh, it’s like kale, silly.)

I confess I did not measure the broth, so I am estimating in the recipe. Rita made hers half broth, half milk. Since I also used a splash of cream I just eye-balled what looked good. You can add more milk or broth to your taste.

That’s the beauty of this soup! As I was enjoying each spoonful of creamy, flavorful soup, I says to myself, “self, you could put some diced chicken in here. Or bacon. Maybe diced sweet potatoes too and celery.” It is very versatile. Peas, leeks, ham, ooh, how about a dollop of sour cream? Now we’re talking!

Kale, sausage and potato soup

Ingredients

  • Some Sausage, Italian, chicken, whatever.
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 2-3 cloves garlic
  • 10-12 red potatoes (or 1 huge russet, peeled)
  • some salt, pepper, bay leaf
  • bunch kale, trimmed with thick parts removed.
  • 1 quart chicken broth
  • 1 pint  milk
  • 1 cup frozen corn

Cooking Directions

  1. In your Pampered Chef Rockcrok or large soup pot, saute your choice of sausage. Rita suggested partially freezing the sausages to make it easier to slice thin. If using raw sausage, saute until they start to brown.
  2. Add thinly sliced potatoes and continue to saute.
  3. When sausage is mostly done, add the diced onions, bay leaf and kale. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Add the corn.(I put a lid on at this point to let things get nice and steamy.) After about 5 minutes, stir it up until things are browning and add the broth and milk. Let this simmer, uncovered, but not boil or the milk might curdle.
  4. The soup will thicken from the potatoes.
  5. The longer it sits the better it tastes.
  6. It so easy! Dice, saute, simmer, eat!
Remnants of fried rice with diced chicken sausage.
Remnants of fried rice with diced chicken sausage.
Rita, the wonder cook!
Rita, the wonder cook!

 

One thought on “Warm kale, potato and sausage soup (Or chowder?)

I'd like to hear from you!

