Upside Down Caramel Apple Pie

Let us get right to the point. You will be getting this recipe:

IMG_3130 (1024x765)

So now say “hallelujah!’ and sit down to hear more about the Mistletoe Bough. and my trip to Alabama. Just for a minute, then you can see how Jo Ann, the Innkeeper here and my aunt, makes this. Go to that link to see beautiful photos that are much better than mine of the Inn. Take a minute to see how gracious and hospitable it looks. Then tomorrow I will have a post with some of its history. After all, was built in 1895. History it’s got!

Okay, now that you are back from checking out the site, Let me first tell you that today we went flying through the countryside in my uncle and aunts big pick up truck to Sylacauga, AL  to tour an ice cream factory. es! an ice cream factory! Time to call on that inner child.) Blue Bell ice cream has been around these parts for about 80 years. It was an interesting little tour and after it we all had a big ol’ scoop of any flavor we wanted. I got ‘Moo-linium, which was amazing, made of vanilla with caramel chunks, chocolate swirls, almonds, pecans and walnuts. Save me! I shared some with my sheriff uncle (It never hurts to schmooze the law) so he would share his cup of peach ice cream Never have I had such a smooth and wonderful peach ice cream. I would buy a tub of it in a hot second but for the fact that it doesn’t sell in California. Dang.

IMG_3201 (1024x765)
We were along there an a cold rainy Monday. Now imagine a hot humid southern summer day. This place would be hopping because they sell their ice cream for just a buck a scoop! It has a pretty large parlor full of small tables and chairs that told me they often see busier times. Especially the after school kids.

We watched a short flick on the beginnings of Blue Bell Ice Cream, then got to look at the packaging plant through glass panes. Do you know they have a flash freezing room that stays at -100 degrees! Minus 100! They need special suits to even go in there. Their motto is “We eat all we want and sell the rest”.

I promised you some of my photos, done with my simple phone camera, of the Inn. The rest of this is from Sunday.

here I am playing with the smart phone in the informal dining room.
Got Plates?

IMG_3128 (1024x765)

After that storm I talked to you about, everything was sopping wet and sparkling clean. Cardinals were hopping around the bare fruit trees. Their little koi pond that just last week had been frozen over, was thawed, green and had little fishies swimming about. Don’t ask me what the little fishies were doing during the freeze. Probably smoking cigars somewhere at a bar in Miami.

Here is where the Princess Fiona is kept. Just missing the dragon. But we got Gus instead.
Here is the turret where the Princess Fiona is kept. Just missing the dragon. But we got Gus instead.
Hi Gus
Hi Gus
Ancient pecan trees tower above the 'Toe.
Ancient pecan trees tower above the ‘Toe.
Aunties arm pointing at the tiny fish.
Aunties arm pointing at the tiny fish.
Now maybe you can see them?
Now maybe you can see them?
You should see these grounds in the spring, when everything is in full bloom.
You should see these grounds in the spring, when everything is in full bloom.

IMG_3154 (1024x765)

IMG_3155 (1024x765)
A bench where a fella might court his gal.
The once Wilson sisters.
The once Wilson sisters. Or my aunt has grown another head.
Nice place to groom ones self
Nice place to groom ones self
Hello Mickey!
Hello Mickey!
Here is a room I just helped clean after some guests left. Notice the cute chocolate bunny pillow on the bed.
Here is a room I just helped clean after some guests left. Notice the cute chocolate bunny pillow on the bed.
Here is one of the beds from the Sweet Pea room
Here is one of the beds from the Sweet Pea room
And here is the other. Great for when women are traveling together and want to share a room.  Aunty loves sweet peas and this room is hardly the only place at the Inn you will find them.
And here is the other. Great for when women are traveling together and want to share a room. Aunty loves sweet peas and this room is hardly the only place at the Inn you will find them.
here is Sunshine room.
here is Sunshine room.
Now here is my room. It once looked as lovely and clean as any other. But i have a tendency to make myself at home the minute I set down my luggage. In 5 minutes flat my tooth brush is out, shoes are by the bed, wet towels are already on the bathroom floor...well, no, I always hang them up.
Now here is my room, actually called “Andreas Room”. I made the photo tiny so you couldn’t see what a mess I made it. It once looked as lovely and clean as any other. But I have a tendency to make myself at home the minute I set down my luggage. In 5 minutes flat my tooth brush is out, shoes are by the bed, wet towels are already on the bathroom floor…well, no, I always hang them up.

IMG_3214 (765x1024)

I dare you to guess this bathrooms color scheme. This is my private bath. All the rooms but sweet pea have one. Sweet peas is down the hall a bit. But makes up for it with a big claw foot tub.
I dare you to guess this bathrooms color scheme. This is my private bath. All the rooms but sweet pea have one. Sweet peas is down the hall a bit. But makes up for it with a big claw foot tub.

IMG_3190 (765x1024)

Now tell me if this hook on the back of my bathroom door doesn't look like a face! I think of Alice in Wonderland and expect it to start talking to me.
Now tell me if this hook on the back of my bathroom door doesn’t look like a face! I think of Alice in Wonderland and expect it to start talking to me.
I went back to the attic the next day. Look at the turret roofing. Birds, or maybe bats have roosted in there not too long ago.
I went back to the attic the next day. Look at the turret roofing. Birds, or maybe bats have roosted in there not too long ago. (To the whovians, could the Silence be lurking up there? I don’t remember.)
Maybe a better view.
Maybe a better view.

Now, what did I promise you…?

See pictures after the recipe.

Upside Down Apple Pie

Ingredients

  • about 6 apples, a mix of tart and sweet
  • 2 Tbsp. sugar
  • 2 Tbsp. flour
  • 2 tsp. Cinnamon or Cinnamon Plus from Pampered Chef
  • about 2 tsp. lemon juice
  • 2 pie crusts
  • 6 Tbsp. butter
  • scant 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • Handful of whole pecans

Cooking Directions

  1. Peel, core and slice the apples for pie.
  2. Put in a large mixing bowl and toss with sugar, cinnamon or Cinnamon Plus, flour and lemon juice. Set aside.
  3. Prepare your pie pan by spreading the softened butter all over the bottom and sides of it. Sprinkle the brown sugar evenly over it. Lay the pecans evenly over the sugar.
  4. Lay one of the pie crusts carefully over the pecan/butter/sugar layered pie pan. Press down gently. Press around the edges.
  5. Fill with the sliced apples, moving them around with your fingers until the are evenly layered in.
  6. Lay the 2nd pie crust over it, crimping the edges shut.
  7. bake in a 400 degree oven for 15 minutes, then reduce heat to 350 and bake until apples are tender, about 40 minutes.
  8. Let pie sit for 5 minutes. Then lay a plate over the pan. Holding carefully, flip the warm pie onto the plate. Now the caramelized pecan bottom is on top!
  9. It is better to wait until it is cooler, but I dare you to tryIMG_3123 (765x1024)

IMG_3125 (1024x765)IMG_3136 (1024x765)IMG_3140 (1024x765)IMG_3139 (1024x765)

4 thoughts on “Upside Down Caramel Apple Pie

  1. Well my goodness does that ice cream sound divine! What lovely photographs — looks like you’re having a wonderful time! And how could you not be with loved ones keeping you stocked up on ice cream and cake =)

I'd like to hear from you!

