Bavarian Pot Roast

Here is an old favorite of ours that came from an even older Taste of Home recipe. I wore out the little cut out recipe, so only have a written copy as of now. So I am throwing out a ‘thank you’ to whoever it was submitted this one, where ever she may be.

??????????????????????I used beef from Costco and it cooked down most tender and delectable.Considering that I did not even thaw it until about 2:00 pm, that was pretty good. I usually like to cook it a good 3 hours or more, but this one was only about 2 1/2 and it  was still great. I wonder if it might have had to do with the fact that, since I wasn’t sure that it was thawed enough, I cut the roast into several pieces. I then browned them well before putting the sauce on them.

I actually found whole wheat egg noodles! How weird is that? I know it’s a small thing, not really very ‘grainy’ but what the hay. I was serving a salad with it anyway. And since it already had noodles, no bread. Oh wait, I lied. We had some bread still from ‘le Pain Quotidien’ we picked up on a lark at Fashion Island. It was an organic whole wheat sourdough that I sliced thin, spread butter over it, with Parmesan and garlic salt. Oh yeah baby. Since we paid a freaking fortune for that bread, I will not let it just sit here and get stale. In fact there is still some of it double wrapped in the freezer as we speak. The loaf was huge! (Just because I bake it doesn’t mean I don’t appreciate someone else’s baking.)

So practice your yodeling and put on your drindles or lederhosen and let’s make some Bavarian Pot roast!

Bavarian Pot Roast

Ingredients

  • 3 lbs. boneless beef chuck roast
  • 2 Tablespoon oil
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup beef broth or beer (I used beef broth with a splash of apple juice)
  • 8 oz tomato sauce
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 2 Tablespoon sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon vinegar
  • 2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon each pepper and ginger

Cooking Directions

  1. I cut the roast into several pieces with the result that it cooked faster, became very tender and melt in your mouth. Using a large dutch oven, heat the oil and sear the meat on both sides.
  2. Lay the rough chopped onions over the meat.
  3. Mix the rest of the ingredients in something like a batter bowl and pour over the meat.
  4. Bring to a boil, reduce heat, cover and simmer until the meat is tender, 2 1/2-3 hours.
  5. I made whole wheat egg noodles tonight for this meal. When the meat is tender, remove the meat from the Dutch oven to either a plate or put right on the noodles. Bring the sauce left in the pot to a simmer. If need be, add some beef broth to make a little more (I made about 2 cups, adding a little less than a cup of broth extra). I then whisk some tapioca starch or corn starch with a little water into the sauce to make a gravy. Simmer as it thickens just for a minute or so.
  6. Put noodles in a large serving bowl, add meat/onion mix and pour some of the sauce over the top, putting the rest in a gravy boat.

Yummers!

I'd like to hear from you!

