Apple Slaw

First off all I need you to kiss my boo-boo. I have a cut on the top of my ring finger of my left hand, making typing a wee bit painful. This happened when I opened our boobie trapped fridge door and a bowl of onion dip came flying out at me, smashing itself against I-dont-know-what and cutting my finger in the process. But I have the last laugh. The bowl and dip are in pieces in the stinking trash can.

And it is a very hot day.

We are having yet another heat wave, with hot desert winds whipping through, blowing out palm fronds and whisking every dead leaf in kingdom come onto our patio where your truly will eventually be sweeping them up.

it was so windy, the palms blew right over!

Let us not forget that when I first came out this morning, there was chicken poop all over the floor in the dining area. Seems no one shut the pen last night after letting the girls out to forage. Seems also that the cats have figured out how to open the new screen to get in and out, but have yet to grasp the idea of closing it behind them.

Open door, loose hens that like cat food.

Hmm.

It’s one of those mornings you just wonder “whats next”. One of those mornings where you are looking over your shoulder and jumping at any loud noises.

So, what am I blogging about today? Its been forever since I have felt like or had the time to sit here clacking away on this ol’ keyboard. Now I forgot what I sat here for. Dang.

Well, while I am waiting for that thought to come back to me, here is a photo or two from Mothers day.

IMG_3627 (704x800)Okay, they aren’t looking very chummy. Not a very huggy picture, but there were hugs and kisses. They just don’t like taking pictures. I prefer to catch them off guard when I get photos. Like when I shot a photo of Paul making the Strawberry Trifle for our mothers day dessert.

IMG_3626 (765x1024)We have made this Pampered Chef recipe many times over the years and this is Pauls first attempt at making it himself.  Phil made the apple slaw.  Hubby made his famous bacon blue cheese burgers. (But just between you, me and the lamp-post, they were a bit overdone. Still, tasty and I didn’t have to do the cooking, so… ) Maybe that’s why I was blogging today? To share the apple slaw recipe?

Or was it the GMO thing?

Or was it the apple walnut coffeecake?

Well, anyway, we had a nice Mothers day. I was spoiled rotten. Got to play board and dice games with my mum, lay around on the couch, read some of the paper, lay around some more. Watch Firefly reruns on blue-ray. The point is my feet where up most of the time. It was good.

So lets share the apple slaw recipe. Its one of those Semi-Homemade things from Sandra Lee.And as you might guess, its uber easy.

IMG_3630 (1024x765)

You just need:

 

  • 3/4 cup of sour cream (or yogurt. We used half of each since we ran out of sour cream.)
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 3 Tbsp. apple cider vinegar
  • 2 Tbsp. dry ranch salad dressing mix (Hidden Valley)
  • 1 8oz pkg. shredded cabbage and carrots (slaw mix)
  • 2 green apples, cored, cut into pieces and diced with food chopper
  • 3 green onions, thinly sliced
  • salt and pepper

Whisk the sour cream, sugar, vinegar and ranch seasoning in a large bowl to blend.

Add slaw mix, apples and green onions and toss-toss-toss.

Season with salt and pepper. Cover and chill until ready to serve.

Easy-easy-easy.

Keep cool my friends.

IMG_3605 (800x598)

I'd like to hear from you!

