Fresh Tomato Pasta

So how is your summer treating you?

GO---AWAY!
GO—AWAY!

Hobbes here must have partied hearty last night because he slept most of the day away.

I was trying to come up with yet another way to use some of these fresh tomatoes that are currently coming out my ears. I freeze lots of them for future sauce, but the little yellow ones I would rather use fresh. Seems kind of silly to freeze a billion little tiny yellow tomatoes. Maybe I could  make yellow pico de gallo? Or yellow salsa and can it?

Anyway, I needed a side dish last night, so after looking at a few recipes, I pooled together what I had to make this pasta side dish with fresh tomatoes, as well as basil and parsley I had in the garden.The picture isn’t the best and I figure I was lucky to get even one out of it, we were so busy digging in. I had put a chicken on the rotisserie (one of my favorite summer appliances) and then sautéed some spinach with garlic, which takes all of 2 minutes-DONE!

Very yellow from all the yellow tomatoes. That snow on top is Parmesan.
Very yellow from all the yellow tomatoes. That snow on top is Parmesan.

It was all the fresh ingredients that made this very flavorful and a big hit with our crowd.

Fresh Tomato Pasta
• Olive oil, some
• Butter, 2 Tbsp.
• 6 cloves garlic, +/-
• “some” basil.
• ¼ of a large onion, diced
• About ¼ cup chopped parsley
• “Some” tomatoes, any kind, any size
• Parmesan
• Salt and pepper
• Pasta, I used spaghetti
First let’s talk tomatoes. I tried a variety of ways, since I had never made this before. I took the little yellow ones, cut them in half and squeezed out the seeds. I set those aside.
I took the red ones, cut an X in the bottom through the skin, dunked them in simmering water for a couple of minutes, then plunged them into cold water to remove the skins. Then I cut them up and removed most of the seeds.
Meanwhile, boil water for the pasta.
I used a large non-stick (12” Executive skillet from The Pampered Chef) skillet and heated up some oil with the butter. (Some oil=about 3 Tbsp. maybe.)
When melted and hot, add the diced onions and garlic. Heat this for about 3 minutes, and then add the tomatoes, basil and parsley. Simmer this sauce until most of the liquid has evaporated. Add some salt and pepper.
Drain the pasta and rinse with cool water to stop the cooking. Scoop it into the sauce, stirring with a pasta fork, lifting and mixing.
Add plenty of Parmesan when done. Serve up!

You can see some little yellow ones here as I start another harvesting.
You can see some little yellow ones here as I start another harvesting.

The Romas I tried growing this year came out tiny, like cherry tomatoes. The yellow beefstakes  came out too small too. And many times had blossom end rot. Bleck! But the Celebrity plant did awesome as did the little yellow pear shaped ones. Overall I have a good variety and it fullfilled it purpose of providing salsa, spaghetti sauce and caprice salads.

ACK! Yellow ones being smooshed by the big hearty red ones!Here is about 10 pounds of tomatoes. I get this about every 3 days from my 6 plants.
ACK! Yellow ones being smooshed by the big hearty red ones!Here is about 10 pounds of tomatoes. I get this about every 3 days from my 6 plants.
I'd like to hear from you!

