Caramelized Cauliflower with honey

Cauliflower.

That steamy, mushy, pale vegetable my mother would try to get me to eat.

She might smother it with cheese sauce, but more often than not it would be served up plain and icky.

I would pick at it, push it around the plate, try to make it look eaten. Or make lots of gaggy noises while I nibbled on it, until she would take it away in a huff. (Yes, I got off easy.)

In spite of my intense dislike of cauliflower and lots of other veggies, I grew up.

Then comes my own family. And they all love cauliflower. Dang it!

So I steam it and sometimes smother it with cheese sauce. I would just not eat it.

And then I really grew up. I discovered things like food channels and the internet. Now I could brave a peak outside the steamed vegetable box I had grown up in. (steamed broccoli-bleck! Steamed asparagus-shutter!)

I found roasted cauliflower and it was wonderful!

I riced the cauliflower and sauteed it with shallots and butter as a rice substitute and I was delirious!

Then someone shared a recipe with me from Williams-Sonoma for Caramelized Cauliflower with Honey and Smoked Paprika. Now I can claim vegetable victory as I share this with you.

And you too can learn to love cauliflower. Your cauliflower guilt will be lifted and you will no longer be shunned by vegetable lovers everywhere.

So except for the red pepper flakes, I pretty much followed the recipe on their site, so there is no need to copy all the instructions here.

But I will share the picture, just to peak your interest. Follow the link down the magic rabbit hole of delectable vegetables and see how delicious this evil,  beneficial, vegetable can be. Conquer it!

Caramelized and honey-fied all on the stove top in a non stick skillet.
Caramelized and honey-fied all on the stove top in a non stick skillet.

And be grateful, all you young things, for having instant access to billions of recipes at your fingertips, night or day, at your whim. Had my mother had that resource when her children where growing up, how much sooner might we all have learned to step out of our steamed vegetable box and breath the fresh air of creatively cooked, tender, crunchy, tasty vegetables.

3 thoughts on “Caramelized Cauliflower with honey

  1. At least your mother knew how to steam vegetables. I grew up in a land where roasting or boiling to death were the only known options. Despite this I’ve always rather liked cauliflower. Perhaps boiling to death has its merits. The evil lurker on my childhood plate was – dang dang dang – the brussels sprout. Worst thing was my goody-two-shoes sister loved them. And parsnips – she loved parsnips. It took a lot of growing up before I loved parsnips. Now I grow them. I learned to love my sister too, eventually.

    1. Ha! Do you know, I have never had a parsnip in my life? Most of my childhood veggies came out of a can. Super bleck! While I have never cooked a brussel sprout, I have had them in restaurants that were wonderful. I scanned over your blog site and I guess you are quite the gardener, as well as a potter! You must live in a more rural area. I haven’t liked most vegetables until I discovered roasting or broiling. I loved baked or broiled asparagus with parmesan and sesame seeds. Roasted cauliflower are like big fat crunch popcorns!

      1. Yes, Tonbridge is a small town so although we live quite centrally I can walk into open fields in about 15 minutes. There is only a little courtyard garden at our house but I have a small allotment plot where I can grow veggies. I’m also fortunate that central London is only a 45 minute train ride away so I can take advantage of that when I feel the need for ‘culture’.

I'd like to hear from you!

