Pioneer Womans Pot de Creme

This was our Christmas Eve dessert this year, little china tea cups half filled with a creamy, silky chocolate puddingish mousse. I don’t know what else to call it. Except perhaps, pot de creme! You can find it in her cookbook,”the Pioneer Woman Cooks, Food from my Frontier”.

You just need a food processor or good strong blender (think Ninja or Vita) and some cups or ramekins to pour it into.

IMG_6708
This is before adding the homemade whipped cream…
  • 12 oz. chocolate chips. I used semisweet
  • 4 eggs at room temperature
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • pinch of salt
  • 8oz very hot strong coffee

and for the whipped cream to top it:

  • 1 cup of heavy cream
  • 2 tbsp. sugar
  1. put the chocolate chips in the blender.
  2. add the eggs, vanilla and salt
  3. pulse 5-7 times or until the chips are partially pulverized
  4. turn the blender on low and slowly add the hot coffee.This will melt the chocolate and turn it into a smooth mixture.
  5. pour the mixture into small mason jars, tea cups, pretty wine glasses etc.
  6. chill them for 2-3 hours. Thats it!
  7. I know, you cant believe how easy, right?

Now for the whipped cream. I am always surprised how easy this is. I read that you should make the whipped cream right before using, as it breaks down. Hmm. I made mine Christmas eve. That was, lets see, 10 days ago and it is still doing fine. I just need something to put it on now.

  1. Whip the cream and sugar with a hand mixer or Kitchen Aid mixer until it is whipped creamy-stiff peaks or so.

Serve chilled.

Voila!

PS. Yes, I did notice that this “pot de creme” did not actually have any “creme” or cream in it. But I am ok with this. Hubby says it reminds him of Trader Joe’s Belgian Chocolate Pudding that he loves so much. It is rich, so I would pour them into smaller cups next time. Serves anywhere from 6 to 12 depending on the cups used.

PPS. Thank you Ree!

I'd like to hear from you!

