Garlic Roasted Potatoes (and spepper)

I have dedicated the month of January to weeding out my cookbook stash. (Notice I didn’t say “baking book stash”. That’s a whole different collection).  I go through them one by one, rediscovering what I loved about them in the first place. I am  making lists of recipes I would like to make from each. If a particular cookbook looks like it no longer has recipes that make my skirts fly up, its time to donate it to someone else.

Some of the books have a few recipes I would maybe like to try, but is it fair to keep that book on the shelf with the other, more worthy books, taking up space for just a few recipes I may, or may not, someday make?

So here is my solution. Some books are just gone. No chance, adios amigos! Some books will never go, they warm the cockles of my heart just holding them in my hands, perhaps for sentimental reasons or because they have saved my culinary butt on more than one occasion. But a few, those few who waver between these two lands, I will write out the potential recipes, either here on my blog or on the Just a Pinch web site. They will be on standby, waiting to be made. I can then get rid of the book and when I make the recipe, all I have to do is add the picture! The recipe is ready to go. If, after an appropriate period of time has passed and I still haven’t made that recipe, then it is time to retire it altogether.

Brilliant huh?

Speaking of brilliant ideas, or accidents actually, I have another. I was going to fill the pepper shaker. It was low and I was going to fill it. That’s one of my jobs. So I got the pepper, starting filling the shaker and suddenly realized I was putting pepper in the salt shaker! Yikes! I stopped and you know how thoughts go through your  head in an instant? I was thinking, “I can fix this! I can get the pepper out from the salt.” Oh sure. And just watch me find that needle in that haystack while I’m at it. Instead of throwing it out, I took a step back, looked at it and thought, “Sure, why hasn’t anyone else thought of this? Spepper!”

I really do use it too. I use it to season meat, eggs, all kinds of stuff.

20160108_011954897_iOS
Soon it will be in everyone’s kitchen. But you saw it here first folks! SPEPPER!
20160108_024753120_iOS
Crunchy and garlicky on the outside, creamy on the inside.  This picture is after the mobs have attacked.

So, along those lines, I have decided to say good bye to the Barefoot Contessa Parties! book. But before I do, here is one of her recipes I just made last night and everyone raved. Well, I sure raved. Hubby raved. I kept going back to sneak “just one more”.

Its for Garlic roasted potatoes and couldn’t be easier.

Now I only have 9 jillion more cookbooks to go through!

Garlic Roasted Potatoes

  • 3 lbs (give or take) or small red or white skinned potatoes (or a mix of whatever you have on hand)
  • 1/4 cup of good olive oil
  • 1 1/2 tsp. kosher salt
  • 1 tsp. fresh ground black pepper
  • 2 Tbsp. minced garlic (about 6)
  • 2 Tbsp. minced fresh parsley (If you have it on hand or if you feel like going out into the cold dark garden to pick it. If not, do without.)

preheat the oven to 400 degrees

Cut the potatoes in half or quarters and place in a bowl with the olive oil, salt, pepper, and garlic. Toss until the potatoes are well coated. Dump the potatoes onto a baking sheet. I like to use the stoneware one like a bar pan from Pampered Chef. If you use a metal one, I would use parchment under it. The bar pan does not need this, keeps the heat even and keeps it warm out of the oven for a long time.

Bake them for about an hour, flipping them twice with a spatula during baking for even browning.

Remove from the oven, toss with the (imaginary) parsley, season to taste and serve.

 

 

 

 

I'd like to hear from you!

