Spinach and Chicken Waldorf

You know how it is; a friend of your aunt Sally’s has a sister who won a blue ribbon with this awesome pie recipe.

Or the airline attendants brothers wife’s sister knows someone who works at the French Laundry and can get you this awesome recipe for…

Well, here is one from Hillstone’s restaurant who gave it to Bon Appetit who put it on there website, which landed as a post in my inbox because of the subscription to their magazine from my daughter…

It’s truly awesome!

IMG_8573
I poured a little extra dressing on top. I just couldn’t get that ‘piled high’ look to it though.

After reading their article here about the Hillstone restaurant group, look online to see if they have one near you.

And while you are at it, you can get the recipe for this salad here.

Oh, wait. It’s not a salad. Its a Waldorf. Excuuuuuussse me! You better get your fancy linens on for a Waldorf. (You can tell its fancy when docs won’t let you write the word without it being capitalized.)

For those who are too lazy to click any further, or want to read my own notes on this Waldorf salad adventure, here is my  version of this wonderful Waldorf-in-a-bowl. We will certainly be having more of this come summer weather. (which around here could be tomorrow). (Where else can I fit in the word ‘Waldorf’. It’s so fun to say. (“Fran-sis-co”))

Spinach and Chicken Waldorf

Dressing (and I recommend this for any salad)

  • 3 Tbsp. white wine vinegar
  • 3 Tbsp. horseradish mustard (who ever heard of such a thing?) or 2 Tbsp. of prepared horseradish mixed with 1 Tbsp. of Dijon mustard.
  • 41/2 tsp. sugar
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 1/3 cup walnut oil. (who’d a thunk? I actually had this in the fridge!) or more olive oil
  • 3 Tbsp. crumbled bacon
  • salt and pepper

Salad and Assembly

  • 1/4 cup almonds
  • 1/4 cup cashews
  • 1/4 cup walnuts (or basically 3/4 cup of your favorite nuts)
  • 4 cups chopped frisee (that lacy looking lettuce that reminds me of seaweed. I didn’t have so I used some garden greens instead)
  • 4 cups curly kale (got this coming out my ears, very easy to grow it turns out).
  • 3 cups torn or diced rotisserie chicken (hello Costco! Although in this case we rotisseried an air-chilled organic chick on our own)
  • 1/4 cup crumbled bacon (which I forgot to reserve and it all went in the dressing. But it all ends up in the same place, right?)
  • 1/4 cup raisins or craisins.
  • 3-4 hard-boiled eggs, chopped
  • 1 large red skinned apple, which I peeled and shredded with a grater, but now I think you should just wash and grate, skip the peeling. It would make it prettier.
  • 6 ounces sharp cheddar, grated (about 1 1/2 cups)
  • 8 cups mature spinach leaves (about 1 large bunch) (and if your husband is kind enough to pick up what you need while he is at the store, you might want to actually add in the word mature, since there is so much baby spinach out there to confuse a person. On the other hand, the baby spinach worked too. In another week or so our own spinach may be mature.)

Whisk the vinegar, mustard and sugar in a bowl until sugar is dissolved.  Whisking constantly, to get a good emulsion, gradually add the olive and walnut oil. Add bacon and season with salt and pepper. (this can be made a day ahead of time. Try not to add all the bacon you fried up and crumbled. Set some aside for later!)

preheat oven to 350. Toast all the nuts on a parchment lined baking sheet, tossing half way through, for about 10 minutes. Let cool and then chop them up. Not too tiny or you cant see them.

Toss frisee, (not to be confused with tossing a fris-bee.) kale, chicken, bacon, raisins and nuts with dressing in a very large bowl. (they are not kidding. I should have used a cooking pot for mixing.)

Now add the chopped eggs, apple, cheddar and spinach. Toss, season with salt and pepper as needed.Now, divide onto plates and try to build up the pyramids like they do at the restaurant. I failed at this. I kept piling and it kept melting down. Maybe it was the baby spinach not knowing how to do it right. Maybe it was the lack of frisee, using sissy greens instead.  But it still tasted wonderful. I added a wallop of avocado to mine.

Here is what it could look like:

spinach-and-chicken-waldorf-1880x1120-1458230171
This is a photo from Bon Appetit. See how piled high it is? Perhaps its the frisee holding it all together. I see red on those apples, and they are not grated, they are diced! Hold on, that walnut doesn’t looked chopped to me! I smell Waldorf sabotage!

Enjoy, my dear ones!

2 thoughts on “Spinach and Chicken Waldorf

I'd like to hear from you!

