Stuffed Bell Peppers

Did you like them as a child?

Did they make your heart go wild?
Would you eat them in a box?

Would you eat them with a fox?

No thanks.

I didn’t like eating bell peppers in any way shape or form.

Buuuuttttt, I did like eating out the middle. My sympathetic mom would leave out bell pepper from the stuffing part and that part I would eat. With gusto.

Not much has changed. I still prefer the flavor imparted by bell peppers than eating bell pepepers themselves.

Funnily enough, just when I went searching for stuffed bell pepper recipes (because my one and only bell pepper plant in the garden has given me at least a dozen bells!), I looked on the Pioneer Womans site, which is always a good starting place. Low and behold, what did I find first thing-front page? Stuffed Bell Peppers!

Ree always has your back.

So this is largely thanks to Ree at Pioneer Woman with a little tinkering from me.

IMG_5554
Ready to be popped into a 350 oven. In spite of it being summer…Its just cool enough tonight to get away with it. especially if we eat outside.

This recipe would easily fill 6 full size bells, but I only had 4 small and moderate size ones left to work with, thanks to salads and cashew chicken.

So the extra rice stuffing went here:

 

IMG_5553

STUFFED BELL PEPPERS

  • 1 lb of hamburger meat (Ree uses 1/2 that, 8 oz and you might want to as well or somewhere in the middle.)
  • a drizzle of olive oil
  • 1/2 onion diced (my scallions grew so huge that I am using them as onions now)
  • about 4 tomatoes, diced
  • 3 garlic cloves, diced
  • 1 1/2 or so cups of already cooked rice
  • LOTS of cheese, about 1 1/2 cups  ( mixed cheddar with jack cheese)
  • About 1/3 cup of tomato pepper soup, or tomato soup (the box kind  already mixed and raring to go). or some tomato sauce if all else fails.
  • did I mention 6 bell peppers?

Preheat oven to  350.

Lets start with the bell peppers.

Cut off the tops and take out the seeds, making them into little bowls. Take part of the tops, removing stem and seeds, and dice them up to go into the stuffing. Set aside.

In a skillet, brown the meat, sprinkling with salt and pepper. Spoon out the finished meat and set aside in a bowl. Pour out any grease.

In the same skillet drizzle in a bit of olive or coconut oil and add diced onions and peppers. Saute a 2-3 minutes and then add diced tomatoes and garlic. Saute a minute more and add in the rice and the meat. Now add in about 1 cup shredded cheese and drizzle in the soup.

Place the peppers in a rimmed pan or baking dish. Fill with stuffing and set in pan. When done. pour in about 1/3 cup of water and cover with foil.

(My mom would put in corn, I remember now. So that is an option. So is adding diced zucchini, as Ree does in her Pioneer Woman recipe.) If you have extra rice, put it in a small baking dish with a cover.

Place the pan in the oven and bake about 30 minutes. Remove the lid or foil and heat another 15-20 minutes until soft, hot and melty.

IMG_5555

Great make-ahead meals. Just prepare stuffing ahead of time, prep peppers and stuff right before baking.

 

I'd like to hear from you!

