Strawberry Yogurt Pie

That title is kind of loosie-goosie. Its more like cream cheese Cool Whip pie with a bit of strawberry.

It’s like the one I remember grandma making way back in the day, only last time I tried to remake it, I didn’t use any strawberries. I found an old recipe of hers that was just cream cheese pie, with Cool Whip and sour cream.

So I did some research and found recipes using strawberry jello. But I just ended up making my own version. Its’ easy enough and a great cool dessert for hot days in the desert.

Its kind of like what I put in the strawberry cream trifle of excellence.

Only instead of cream cheese pudding mix, I used a brick of cream cheese.

And no pound cake. Mores the pity.

Here ya go…

IMG_6044(1)
Yes, that is a store bought graham cracker crust. I was doing this the grandma way.

STRAWBERRY YOGURT PIE

  • 8 oz cream cheese
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1  6-8 oz container of strawberry yogurt
  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 2 extra T. strawberry jam
  • 1 T. lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup diced strawberries
  • 1 8oz container Cool Whip or your favorite brand or sugary-pillowy-billowing whippy stuff.
  • 1 graham cracker pie crust

Make sure the Cool Whip is thawed up a bit. The cream cheese should be soft.

I used a standing mixer. Use whatever your little heart likes. A hand mixer, a Danish whisk a fork, a wooden spoon…

Mix the cream cheese and sugar.

Add the  yogurt, sour cream and jam and  mix some more.

Add the lemon juice and diced berries.

Fold in the Cool Whip. Pour the whole kit and kabootle into the pie crust and pop into the freezer to chill. I take it out early, either put in the fridge or out on the counter to soften up. As you can tell by the pic, we dove in and ate…and ate…before I even remembered to take a pic. But hey-I REMEMBERED! Eventually, so Bo-Rah to me!

IMG_6045(1)
This is my second helping, hence the messiness of it all. Things are starting to warm up. Messy and creamy and chilly and sweetie! With a bit of crunch from the pie crust. Guess what mama’s having for breakfast!
One thought on “Strawberry Yogurt Pie

I'd like to hear from you!

