Gluten Free Lemon Blueberry Bundt Cake

 

20170702_022250770_iOS (2)Here is a moist and delicious cake for all seasons. And I bet you cant even tell by looking how much of the cake got left behind in the bundt pan, and had to be dug out and layered back on top and glued in place with icing. Great huh?

 

We happen to have a lot of this on hand. On the left is the flax and grain gluten free mix we have been picking up at Grocery Outlet, (Shopping there being my hubbies newest hobby.)

On the right we have Bobs Red Mill 1 to 1 baking flour that Sams Club was blowing out for a song. Really, it was just over $4 a bag! The 5lb one that is normally around $15!!

And we also happen to have some of this…

51DZ5+1O96L

and this…

BRM-01381-7

Now, its really all about adding images to this post. Thats whats driving me right now to stay awake and get this post started. Lots of pictures to look at. You do need some gluten free baking flour and some almond flour for this recipe.You dont need all of this. In fact this recipe is based on a King Arthur Flour recipe, which is hoping you will use their own brand of gluten free baking mix.If you do, great! If not, use what you have or go pick up your favorite brand.

Now I did not pioneer this recipe, I am only riding on the coat tails of others baking this before me. My baking buddy Julie was the first to introduce me to this moist and wonderful cake. I couldn’t’ believe it was gluten free! I had to have the recipe.

IMG_6604
I had given her a very late Christmas gift of this cake plate and she honored me by actually using it and sharing the cake with me. Thanks Sister!

I ran out that day and bought a bundt pan. It had to be just the right kind. All I had was one with Christmas emblems all over it. I craved a traditional ol’ Bundt pan and I found one for about $11 at Target. Whee!

After making it twice, I decided to shake the “what if” tree and see what falls out. I had lots of blueberries on hand and my blueberry eating husband was out of town. So I froze some of them and used others for a cake.

Some blueberries, some lemon zest and juice. Toast some almonds to sprinkle on top, and use a  dusting of powdered sugar to disguise the Frankenstein monster look of it.

“Bwahaaa-haa! It’s aliiiive!”

Maybe I better finish this post in the morning. I’m not getting very far this way.

zzzzzz

Good Morning!

Now I can get down to business. Here is the recipe as I made it last Saturday. (or click here to see King Arthurs GF Almond Cake)

Gluten Free Lemon Blueberry Bundt Cake

Let me preface this by saying I took the 2 gluten-free mixes from above and mixed them 50/50 and used that for my baking mix. I have previously used the KA mix and another brand baking mix all with good results.

  • 1 1/2 cups gluten-free baking or multi-purpose mix
  • 1 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1 1/2 cups almond flour
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 cube (1/2 cup,8 tbsp) butter, softened
  • 2 Tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp (gluten-free) vanilla or almond extract
  • 1 tsp lemon extract or oil
  • 1 Tbsp. lemon zest
  • 4 eggs, room temp
  • 2/3 cup milk, room temp.
  • blueberries, I didn’t measure but I’d say 1 1/2 to 2 cups. I used fresh as frozen ones turn the cake blue-gray and thats really not the look I’m going for.
  • toasted sliced almonds (or slivered), some
  • powdered sugar, some for dusting and to make a glaze.
  • lemon juice to make glaze, about 1 Tbsp.

preheat oven to 325.

Grease the dickens out of your bundt or coffeecake pan. I like crisco for greasing pans. It just seems to do the job.(Well, most of the time). Then I dust it with rice flour, tipping pan and trying to get it to stick to the coating.

In one bowl, whisk together the all purpose and almond flours with the xanthan gum.

In another bowl, using a standing or electric hand mixer, beat together the sugar, the butter, the oil, salt, baking powder, lemon zest and extracts. Mix and mix until smooth and fluffy. Scrape bottom of  bowl to make sure you didn’t miss anything.

Now beat in the eggs, one at a time. Still looking for the fluffy, the lightness.

Gently stir in the milk, alternating with the flour mix, 1/3 at a time. Milk-mix-flour-mix-milk-mix-etc…Scrape the bowl once more and beat gently for 1 minute. Gently fold in the blueberries until incorporated.  Scoop into your prepped pan.

Bake the cake for 50-60 minutes. The cake should spring back with touched lightly in the center and, more important and accurate, the internal temp should be at least 210!

Remove the cake from the oven and do what I did not do. Get a kitchen towel and place in the sink. Soak with steaming hot water. Take the hot cake pan out of the oven and place it on the towel. This will help the cake to loosen from the pan. Let it sit on the wet towel 10 minutes. (Obvioulsy cake side up. I didn’t have to tell you this, right?)

If you have a silicone skinny spatula, you can run this between the cake and pan to also help loosen it.

Invert a plate over the cake, or a cooling rack, and, using oven mitts still, invert the cake. Set it on the counter and carefully lift the pan. It should now come out in one lovely piece. If it doesn’t, you can always do what I did and perform reconstructive surgery with glaze, gluing the cake back together.

the Glaze

Mix about 2 cups powered sugar, lemon juice and some water and whisk together until it is your desired consistency. Some might like it thicker to pour over the cake and show up more. Some might like it thinner to leave a light sheen to it. Just add powdered sugar or water accordingly and pour over the cooled cake. Then, while the icing is still soft, sprinkle the toasted and cooled almonds on top. The icing helps them to stick on. For a finishing touch to accessorize still more, dust with a bit of powered sugar. It is a beautiful princess cake and deserved all the accessories she wants.

20170702_153800591_iOS

One thought on “Gluten Free Lemon Blueberry Bundt Cake

I'd like to hear from you!

