Disneys Blue Bayou Potatoes

I don’t think I have posted this recipe yet, have I?

It was a lovely spring day in Southern California and we were at the “happiest place on earth”.

We were having a cozy meal at the Blue Bayou restaurant, the one where you can watch the gondolas, okay, boats, glide by on their way through the Pirates of the Caribbean ride. From your candlelit table you can hear the “frogs and crickets” in the perpetual night of the Bayou swamp.

And the occasional screaming as the boat’s head down the falls where “Dead men tell no tales”.

I wish I could tell you what I ordered to eat that day. I only remember the one thing.

The potatoes.

Scallopy-gratiny potatoes.

Flavorful-tender potatoes.

I ate mine,  moaning with each bite. Heavenly. Then I glanced around, distracted hubby and ate his.

Then I start looking around at the tables near me. Are they busy watching the boats go by?

I could have gotten myself thrown out of the happiest place on earth if I wasn’t careful. Instead dear hubby asked if we could have the recipe for the potatoes. I thought “no way, they won’t part with that”. But the cook came out and introduced himself, then said he would gladly email me the recipe.

And he did!

And  now I share with you. I originally wrote up the recipe directly from what was emailed to me (which I just found.) After a readers comment, I added notes. Also, I go pick some thyme out of the garden, strip the stems and just sprinkle it in. I dont I measure.

Au Gratin Potatoes Disneyland Resort®

Chef Moises Carranza

Ingredients

1  Brown Onion Julienne (or sliced thin)

1 Tbsp.  Butter (Or more as needed)

3 lbs  Peeled and Thin Sliced Potatoes

2 Cups Heavy Cream

1 Tbsp. salt (thats what it called for, seems like a lot)

1/8 Tbsp.(equals 1/2 teaspoon)  Fresh Ground White Pepper 

¼ Tbsp.(equals 1 teaspoon) Fresh Thyme Leaves 

2 Tbsp  Garlic Finely Chopped 

1/8 cup Jalapeno Pepper (canned) (I don’t use. And its still delicious.)

1/8 tsp Chicken Base (or chicken bouillon cubes. I generally use the gluey stuff comes in a jar called chicken base.)

1/2 cup Grated Parmesan Cheese (I grate it fresh for best flavor, and then probably use more.)

Preheat oven to 350 F

Saute onions with butter until caramelized. This will take about 20 minutes on low heat. I usually add a pinch of sugar and extra butter if it looks too dry, like it might stick.

 Mix sliced potatoes, and caramelized onions and put in a buttered baking dish.(9 x 13 glass or 12″ round stoneware or cast iron skillet) Mix cream, garlic, salt, white pepper, jalapenos, chicken base and thyme leaves and blend until smooth. Pour blended mixture over potatoes and onions, mix and cover. Bake for 2 hours or until potatoes are tender. (This is where I get ticked off at myself for not reading the whole recipe ahead of time and not giving myself enough time to bake it. But that extra hour caramelizes it and makes it so tender.) 

Remove potatoes from oven and sprinkle with Parmesan cheese. (Okay, I usually add the cheese before I bake, although thats not what the recipe calls for originally. Sometimes I even add extra cheese because, well, cheese! )

Then invite over Mickey and Minnie and maybe Goofy to share with you. Since this is supposed to be the deep, deep, ever so deep south, maybe serve with crawdads or hush puppies.

Oh and thank you Moises!

12 thoughts on “Disneys Blue Bayou Potatoes

  1. Now this sounds good. I am going to have to make it. I dont use bouillon cubes tho, is there a way to substitute it? I enjoy your blog and dont visit enough, but I will. Thanks for stopping by my blog. Have a great day.

  2. Hi there Correna. I wondered too, since I dont always have the cubes. In fact, rarely do. I have a jar of refridgerated condensed chicken stock I use sometimes. You can get little tubes of chicken flavoring. other than that, I would have to say skip it. The only other thing I can think of is maybe cook down some chicken broth until it is pretty condensed and just add it to the cream. Maybe just a couple of Tbsp. since it will not be as strong as the cubes. Good luck! I cant wait to make this again since it has cooked off.

    1. Thanks for answering me, I appreciate it. Well, it is only 1/8 tsp, maybe I will just leave it out or I also thought I could maybe try using onion soup mix instead of the chicken, I have a recipe for it without any bouillon. I will post it here for you in case you would like it too.
      Onion Soup Mix
      2/3 cup dried, minced onion
      3 teaspoons parsley flakes
      2 teaspoons onion powder
      2 teaspoons turmeric
      1 teaspoon celery salt
      1 teaspoon sea salt
      1 teaspoon sucanat (or sugar if you prefer)
      1/2 teaspoon ground pepper
      Mix all ingredients in a jar, then give the jar a good shake. I’d recommend shaking the jar to mix the ingredients well before each use.
      Use 4 Tablespoons Onion Soup Mix in a recipe in place of 1 packet of onion soup mix.
      Might be good in your recipe, I think I may try it tho.
      Have a great day! and thanks again.

  3. i followed the recipe almost to the letter and they came out great! I might recommend a smidge more chicken base, and I used a total of 4 tbsp of butter (about 3 to carmelize the onions, and 1 to butter my baking dish). You will love them!

  4. Oooh I am so happy to find this, I tasted these potatoes last week and cannot stop thinking about them! Seriously the best potatoes I’ve ever had, and i adore potatoes.

    For those asking about chicken base, there is a brand called “Better than Bouillion” that is more like a paste that is great. I use the no-chicken chicken version since I’m a vegetarian, but of course they have meatly versions as well.

    So excited to make this at home!

  5. Just a crazy question. Do your capital T’s mean Tablespoon? So it really calls for 1 Tablespoon of salt? please inform
    thankyou

    1. hello Ginger. Yes, the cap T’s are Tablespoons. In my earlier days I was too lazy to write the whole abbreviation Tbsp. 1 Tablespoon of salt does seem a lot. But as I cannot find my original copy of the thing, I would say use your best judgment. I think 1 tsp. would be small for this dish, but then cheese is salty. The point of me writing these recipes here, besides the sharing aspect, is that, when I lose the recipe, I can always come here and find it. So all my favorites have to come here. Hopefully I copy them correctly. It is easier to add salt later than remove it, but I really cannot remember how much I usually put in. Sorry.

  6. Thank you so much for tracking this recipe down! My girlfriend and I are obsessed with these potatoes so I’m going to try to make them ASAP. Just three quick questions:
    1)What form do the jalapeños take? Do you use the juice or finely chop them?
    2)What kind of potatoes should I use?
    3)What size baking dish will I need?
    Thanks!

    1. Hello Potatohead! First, I dont use the jalapenos. Dont like them, so that will be up to you. (but I would probably drain them). Second, I use any kind of potato I have on hand. If I use russets, I peel them. If I use reds or yellows, I don’t. I use a slicer or mandoline to slice thin. And finally, I’m sorry I forgot to include a picture. I will add one next time I make these. I have a favorite ceramic gratin type dish I use. But a 9 x 13 glass baking dish or a 12″ round stoneware dish or even a cast iron skillet would all work. Enjoy!

I'd like to hear from you!